Beren And Lúthien

100 years after being written, Beren and Lúthien is being published as its own story after being edited by Christopher Tolkien. I’m so excited to get my copy (the book is released June 1st) and I pre-ordered it yesterday.

I already know how the story goes from reading the Silmarillion but I’m hoping there are some differences. I am especially looking forward to the illustrations which have been done by Alan Lee, one of the conceptual artists who worked on the Lord of the Rings trilogy and whose work I have loved for years.

Beren and Lúthien is the tale of an elf maiden who falls in love with a man and is based on Tolkien’s relationship with his wife. They even have the names engraved on their tombstones.

beren_and_luthien-198x300.jpg

Leave a Reply

