Lavandula officinalis

lavender.jpg

Lavender is an herb that has many different forms and uses. My interest in it, is as an essential oil. Lavender essential oil is commonly used in aromatherapy and is a known remedy for headaches and migraines (I am hopping this will work for me), as well as stress and muscle pain.

Many sources recommend that the oil be added to a bath or used with a compress on the forehead. Although I have not tried it yet, I am a little bit skeptical because I think the main source of my headaches is neck pain/stiffness. I will try different methods though, including a compress on the neck of the neck.

I picked up this little bottle fromΒ Goodness MeΒ for about $15. There are cheaper and more expensive bottles based on the quality of the lavender (organic).

I will be testing this method over the next few days/weeks to see how it works in comparison to common chemical pain killers.

Leave a Reply

